Skip to content

Christmas Wish List

December 3, 2008
Candy (Three years old) would like Baby Dolls and a Stroller
Amber (Four years old) would like a Disney Toy and a Tea set or Playhouse
Micheal (Nine years old) would like a Pokemon Toy and a Remote Control Car

This is the wishlist of the Baca family, still waiting to be sponsored in our Adopt a Family Program.

They are one of 376 families that have yet to be “adopted” before the December 13th deadline. Gail Engstrom, who is coordinating the program said the Outreach team is attempting to bring the joy of Christmas to 200 more families this year than they served last Christmas. One list in particular broke her heart with a child asking for “laundry detergent” instead of the latest toy or stuffed animal.

For all the local families who are being sponsored this year, the program means more than just presents for their kids, it also means receiving three days worth of food, including ingredients for a traditional holiday meal and the hope that comes from knowing that someone cared.

If you would like to “adopt” the Baca family or sponsor another family, please call Gail today at 602 346 3338 or visit www.phoenixrescuemission.org for more information.

4 Comments
  1. Cristina permalink
    December 5, 2008 2:39 am

    Thank you for leaving a comment in my blog… do you mind me asking how did you stumble on my blog?

    Cristina

  2. Debra permalink
    December 5, 2008 3:12 pm

    You’re very welcome. To answer your question, I have Google alerts set up to let me know when things are posted with the phrase “Phoenix Rescue Mission” 🙂

  3. Mommy Dear permalink
    December 6, 2008 12:59 am

    Well, you’re welcome! I am so happy to do so. I wish I could do more. I would love to volunteer with my mom’s group and my family. Are there opportunities for groups/or groups with children?

  4. Debra permalink
    December 8, 2008 4:35 pm

    Absolutely! Give our Volunteer Coordinator, Marlena a call at 602 346 3339 (or email mpadron@phoenixrescuemission.org. She can give you a list of different projects that are kid and group friendly.

Comments are closed.

