Skip to content

Springfest at Homeward Bound

March 27, 2009

Phoenix Rescue Mission joined forces with Homeward Bound earlier this month for Springfest – an event filled with face painting, balloon animals, an Easter egg hunt, music by Saving Faith and of course, food boxes with fresh produce. The moms and kids at Homeward Bound’s transitional housing come from backgrounds of homelessness and in some cases, domestic abuse.

For these ladies, this is the last step on the way to getting back into society after the hard work of putting the pieces back together. To give the women hope that they can have a normal life complete with jobs and healthy relationships, a Mission employee shared her story of overcoming 2o years of domestic violence at the hands of her now ex-husband. She was emotional as she encouraged the women and told them,

“I thank God for watching over me and protecting me and my son. The verse I would always recite was Romans 8:28, ‘All things work together for good, for those who love the Lord.’ Today I have someone in my life who respects me and I have rebuilt my relationship with my mom.”

We had a great time with ladies at Homeward Bound and their amazing kids. We pray that they will make the connections they need and that their spirits will continue to grow as they start the next exciting phase of their new lives.
Comments are closed.

