Skip to content

Tom’s Story

June 29, 2010

Phoenix Rescue Mission's Jerry Sandvig with Tom Murray

I had the privledge of meeting Tom Murray at our Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon in April. He was our featured speaker and when he took his place behind the podium in his suit and tie, I had no idea how powerful the story he was about to share with us would be. Here in his own words, is Tom’s story of homelessness and hope.

“I lived in Phoenix many years, and for the most part, I lived on the streets in central Phoenix.  I had jobs and then I had months of no jobs and homelessness.  I used to sleep in the bushes along I-17 near Grant Street in the years before I first went to the Phoenix Rescue Mission.

Those years were mostly awful. When I finally went to the Mission in October 2001, I was seriously ill (I didn’t know it) and in fact, I laid on a piece of cardboard for several days outside the gate of the Mission – I was just too sick and tired to get up. I had what you might call a life changing experience before I went to the Mission.

I had a heart attack and underwent several heart surgeries while I lived at the Mission and I remember Jerry Sandvig coming to lead Bible studies when I was not able to get out of my bed.  What a blessing Jerry and everyone at the Mission were to me, and are now to many people.

I am school in Kansas City now, completing my doctorate degree and I will be a Doctor of Chiropractic next year.  I plan on returning to Phoenix to help Jerry and everyone else at the Mission.

~Tom Murray”

There are many more homeless men just like Tom. Please visit our website to see how you can help or to find out more about our Addiction Recovery Program.

~Debra Pryor
www.phoenixrescuemission.org

One Comment
  1. Thomas Murray permalink
    July 7, 2010 6:42 am

    Everyone please help the men and women living on the streets of Phoenix! There are hundreds of them – and I am not kidding. In April 2010, I drove around a two square mile area near downtown Phoenix, and I was appalled and quit counting after I reached 100 men, women, and children wandering around in the heat, and that was April. It is at least 20 degrees hotter now.

    The majority of the homeless did not get that way through design or intention, and they need our help. We can change lives, through our volunteer efforts, donation of money and food and clothing, and prayers.

    Please help the Mission in Phoenix today – and help the Mission in your city and hometown.

    Thomas Murray

Comments are closed.

